Commission Membership

BASIC has set up an independent, cross-party commission to look into UK nuclear weapons policy and the issue of Trident renewal. The
BASIC Trident Commission Co-Chairs and Members are:


Lord Browne of Ladyton, former Labour Secretary of State for DefenceSir Malcolm Rifkind, former Conservative Defence and Foreign SecretarySir Menzies Campbell, former leader of the Liberal Democrats and Shadow Foreign Secretary


Professor Alyson Bailes, Former Head of the Security Policy Department at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and former member of the Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission

Sir Jeremy Greenstock, former UK Ambassador to the UN

Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank, former Chief of the Defence Staff

Professor Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield, Queen Mary, University College London

Lord Rees of Ludlow, Astronomer Royal and
recent President of the Royal Society

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard